Export Control Classification Number

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) maintains the Commodity Control List (CCL) that is divided into 10 categories, numbered as follows:

0- Nuclear Materials, Facilities and Equipment and Miscellaneous
1- Materials, Chemicals, Microorganisms, and Toxins
2- Materials Processing
3- Electronics
4- Computers
5- Telecommunications and Information Security
6- Lasers and Sensors
7- Navigation and Avionics
8- Marine
9- Propulsion Systems, Space Vehicles and Related Equipment

Within each of the above categories, items are arranged by groups as follows:

A- Equipment, Assemblies and Components
B- Test, Inspection and Production Equipment
C- Materials
D- Software
E- Technology